“I knew I was right to want these sister duo out of our lives” mami said scornfully. “If it wasn’t for phati sadi our Anjali would still be happy.”

Khushi tried to block out the words, tell herself that what mami said didn’t matter. She didn’t know the truth. Only person who mattered believed her.

Her Arnavji believed her.

But she had formed a bond with mami in the past few weeks. While looking for Arnavji, mami had comforted her in her own way. Never showing open concern, but being there always.

“Mamiji…It’s not like that…” Khushi pleaded, only for mami to turn away.

“Hmpf! I bet phati sadi said something to Anjali bitiya, that is why she left.” mami accused., trying to hide the hurt from her voice, she had trusted phati sadi!

The slightest words you said
Have all gone to my head
I hear angels sing in your voice
When you pull me close
Feelings I’ve never known
They mean everything
And leave me no choice

“Why did di leave?” Arnav said, storming into the living room of RM.

He had heard the tail end of the conversation and was hoping that it would give him some clue as to where di might have went.

“Arnav bitwa, I was saying that phati sadi must have said something to Anjali bitiya.” Mami said with a glare to Khushi. ” Why else would she leave?”

Arnav rubbed his temple with his hand and spoke to mami in an even tone, he did not need this right now.

“Mami, I am sure Khushi didn’t do anything.” he said, glancing at a teary eyes Khushi. “Infact, Khushi didn’t even see di! Nani asked her to stay away from di for a while.” Arnav explained.

Light on my heart, light on my feet
Light in your eyes I can’t even speak
Do you even know how you make me weak

 

“Arnavji…” Khushi whispered, frightened.

Arnav turned to look at her, reassure her that she wasn’t at fault, but one look at her and he stopped.

She was fidgeting with her dupatta ends and staring at the ground.

“I talked to di today” she whispered.

She looked up then, hurried to explain, “Not much…I..I just wanted her to eat something.”

“She hasn’t eaten anything in so long, and I didn’t want the baby to be affected.” she pleaded.

I’m a lightweight
Better be careful what you say
With every word I’m blown away
You’re in control of my heart
I’m a lightweight
Easy to fall, easy to break
With every move my whole world shakes
Keep me from falling apart

Arnav tried to keep a calm head, tried to see the logic in Khushi’s words, but as they say Old habits die hard.

He grabbed her arms and yelled “Why would you do that Khushi? Even after nani told you…even after you knew how emotional di was!”

“Arnavji..please! I just wanted to help!” Khushi tried to explain.

“Help? Help!? Well, look how well that turned out!” Arnav said, pushing her away, and storming out of the house.

Khushi looked at him with a broken gaze, would this never change?

Make a promise, please
You’ll always be in reach
Just in case I need
You’re there when I call
This is all so new
Seems too good to be true
Could this really be
A safe place to fall

“Arnavji…please pick up!” Khushi mumbled into the phone, hoping that, despite his anger, he wouldn’t ignore her now, not after everything they’ve been through.

“Hello” he barked into the phone, not in the mood for a fight, not to mention the guilt that had started eating at him as soon as he turned his back to her.

“Arnavji! Thank god you picked up! Di’s reports are missing! Maybe she went to the doctor?” Khushi asked.

Arnav cursed into the phone, before hanging up and gunning it to the hospital.

Di! Please don’t do anything crazy!


Light on my heart, light on my feet
Light in your eyes I can’t even speak
Do you even know how you make me weak, oh whoa?

 

He had found di in the hospital, asking the doctor for an abortion. When Arnav grabbed her and yelled at her for the first time in many years, she broke down in his arms.

Anjali was afraid to keep the kid, that had Shyam as a father. How would anyone in the house love the baby, when it would remind them constantly of who her other parent was. Especially Khushi, how would she ever forgive Anjali?

Arnav calmed her down and drove her home, only to have her be engulfed in a bear hug by Khushi.

“Di! What were you thinking? Do you have any idea how worried we all were?” Khushi sobbed. “I thought…I thought you left because of me.”

Anjali looked up shocked and wiped Khushi’s tears away. “No Khushiji. I thought you blamed me for being blind to all that went on around me.” Anjali cried.

Both of them comforted each other this way for a long while, and when Khushi found out where Anjali was, she was horrified, and made Anjali promise never to do anything like this ever again.

After another round of tears, they departed for the night.

I’m a lightweight
Better be careful what you say
With every word I’m blown away
You’re in control of my heart
I’m a lightweight
Easy to fall, easy to break
With every move my whole world shakes
Keep me from falling apart
Keep me from falling down

 

Khushi wiped her wet hair with a towel, lost in thought. She was so immersed in her thoughts that she didn’t notice him before she walked right into him.

She looked up, her eyes wide, shocked, before looking down quickly and tried to move away.

“Khushi” he whispered and held her arms gently.

“Khushi look at me. I am sorry. I shouldn’t have yelled at you” he tried to hug her.

But she wouldn’t fall for it this time.

She tried to pull away, struggled in his arms to get free, with no avail.

“Khushi…you can’t run away anymore. We are married now.” Arnav teased. “We have to fight it out and then make up.”

His teasing only managed to irritate her further. Who did he think he was? Playing with her heart at every turn.

Drowned in your love
It’s almost all too much
Handle with care
Say you’ll be there

She glared at him, with fire burning in her eyes and grit out.

“Marraige? What marriage? This is just a contract.”

She saw the hurt in his eyes, but she couldn’t stop.

“And in a few days neither will you be my husband nor I your wife!” saying this, she pushed him away with all her might and tried to walk away.

But Arnav Singh Raizada did not give up that easily!

Oh, I’m a lightweight
Better be careful what you say
With every word I’m blown away
You’re in control of my heart
I’m a lightweight
Easy to fall, easy to break
With every move my whole world shakes
Keep me from falling apart
Keep me from falling apart
Keep me from falling apart, oh
Falling apart

Arnav pulled her so hard that she crashed into his chest, and her slammed them into the wall behind them and whispered.

“Khushi kumari gupta, I WILL make you Mrs. Arnav Singh Raizada, forever!”

And with that he claimed her lips in passionate kiss, and Khushi had no choice but to reciprocate. She was, after all, a mere mortal.

4 thoughts on “ArHi OS : Mrs. Arnav Singh Raizada

Leave a Reply

