I don’t think that passenger seat
Has ever looked this good to me
He tells me about his night
And I count the colors in his eyes

“By all means, take your time! It’s not like I am sitting here, waiting for you, hoping you would, for once, get your ass in here on time to drive me to school before the late bell rings!” Khushi screamed out the passenger seat window.

“Hold your horses, I’m coming!” yelled Arnav, as he ran down the steps of his house.

He slammed the car door shut and turned on the heat, and turned to her with a smile.

I could get lost in that smile for all eternity.

“Khushi?” he snapped his fingers. “Hellooo? Anyone in there?” he tapped her head with a smirk.

She slapped his hand away, and sat back in her seat with a hmpf!

“Look, it’s just 6:50, we have plenty of time to get to school, and even take a stroll around the building!” he cajoled. “Khushi, you know I was sneaked out for the part last night! I’m sorry Khush! I won’t be late ever again, okay?”

She turned her head towards him to give him a piece of my mind “I lost track of how many times…”

But seeing him holding his ears, and looking at her with those sad, hopeful eyes, she couldn’t help but give in.

His eyes are going to be the death of me.

“Fine!” she smiled reluctantly. “Now drive before we are late again!” she screamed.

He shook his head at her and started driving.

He’ll never fall in love he swears
As he runs his fingers through his hair
I’m laughing cause I hope he’s wrong
I don’t think it ever crossed his mind
He tells a joke I fake a smile
That I know all his favorite songs

“So, I heard that you hooked up with yet another bimbo last night?” Khushi asked casually, trying to keep the bitterness out of her voice.

“Hmm…” Arnav stopped shoving his face to look at her. “What are you talking about?”

“I heard you hooked up with Charlotte! What do you see in girls like that?” Khushi asked, genuinely wondering what guys found attractive in those skanks.

“I was just having a good time. Stop psycho-analyzing me Khush.” he grumbled, and got back to attacking his pizza with a gusto.

Khushi sighed at his aloofness, and asked sadly.

“But don’t you want to have a girl-friends, a relationship?” she whispered. “Fall in love?” with me, Khushi thought wistfully.

He stopped eating again and looked at her. “Love? I am staying far away from that!” he barked out, laughing.

Khushi laughed with him, hoping and praying he was wrong.

And..
I could tell you his favorite color’s green
He loves to argue, born on the seventeenth
His sister’s beautiful, he has his father’s eyes
And if you asked me if I love him,
I’d lie

“Khushi?” NK called out, as she was walking through the halls of the school.

Khushi turned around with a smile and waited for him to catch up to her.

“Hi NK! How have you been?” she asked.

“I’ve been good. And you?” he smiled boyishly, flashing his dimples at her.

Any other girl would have swooned, but unfortunately for Khushi, her heart was taken.

“I’m good too. Applying for colleges, taking SAT’s, you know the usual.” Khushi smiled.

“Man! Senior year is such a pain!” NK whined, but the frown vanished as he turned towards Khushi and asked, “I was…ermm.”

“Yes?” Khushi asked.

He ran his hands through his hair nervously and fidgeted before asking, “I was wondering if we could go out sometime?”

Khushi looked around uncomfortably and after a couple of minutes said, “NK, you are a great guy, but…”

“But you love someone else?” he asked with a sad smile.

“No!” Khushi screamed. “I mean…no.” she toned down her voice, trying to convince him it’s true.

NK smiled a sad smile again, and turned and walked away.

He looks around the room
Innocently overlooks the truth
Shouldn’t a light go on?
Doesn’t he know that I’ve had him memorized for so long?
He sees everything black and white
Never let nobody see him cry
I don’t let nobody see me wishing he was mine

“Khushi!” he runs towards here with a huge smile on his face. “Where are you going?” he asks, as he casually throws an arm around her shoulders.

“To class?” she answers, sarcastically. “Where people usually go during school?”

“Bah! Boring! Wanna skip?” he asks with a mischievous glint in his eyes.

“Arnav…” she warns, “We can’t! My mom would kill me, not to mention your parents would have something to say when they get a call tonight!”

“Trust me! I’ve got it covered.” he winks at her, taking her hand and dragging her to the car.

– – – – –

“What exactly are we doing here?” she asks, staring at the empty football field in front of her.

“Well, you complained that we don’t get to talk much these days, what with your AP courses and my football practices.” he paused “So…here we are!”

Khushi turned towards him to find him looking at her a breathtaking smile.

“See, this is why I like you, even though you are a major pain in the ass usually” she smiled at him, beyond happy that he would do this for her, for them.

“Admit it, you loveee me” he sang, shoving her shoulder.

You don’t know just how true that is!

“Love? Don’t get too carried away. I said like, don’t make me take that back too.” Khushi poked her tongue out at him.

And soon the football field echoed with the sound of her giggles as he ticked her with no mercy.

He stands there then walks away
My god if I could only say
I’m holding every breath for you…

“You’re coming to the party tonight!” Arnav yelled as he walked away, to his class.

“No, I’m not!” Khushi screamed right back, who did he think he was? Ordering her around! Hmpf!

“You are, even if I have to haul you over my shoulders in your pajamas and take you there.” he warned.

It is not that she didn’t like parties. She just stopped going after she realized her feelings towards him. It was getting harder and harder to hide her emotions when some random s**t came onto him.

He’d never tell you but he can play guitar
I think he can see through everything
But my heart
First thought when I wake up is
My god he’s beautiful
So I put on my make up
And pray for a miracle

“So? Enjoying the party?” he sat beside her, shoving her a little to make room for himself or the small one-seater.

“Fun? Someone almost spilled beer on me, a couple of guys flirted with me, and Colin went as far as trying to grope me.” Khushi didn’t see his eyes darken, a dangerous gleam in them. “If that is what’s called fun, then yeah, I guess.” She joked.

“What I don’t get is if you are here with your girl-friend, why would you go after some one else?” Khushi shook her head at the absurdness of some people.

“Anyway…” Khushi turned around just in time to see Arnav get up and walk towards the dance floor, his body drawn taut, heading straight towards Colin.

“Arnav?” Khushi screamed, only for her voice to be drowned in the music. She ran behind him, “Arnav! What are you doing?”

And before she knew what happened, Colin was on the floor, clutching his cheek and nose, and the whole room had turned silent.

“Don’t you dare touch Khushi again.” Arnav said, in an eerily calm voice.

“What?” Jessica screamed, “Why would my boyfriend go after her?” she looked at Khushi, like she was filth. “Oh! I get it, she couldn’t get into your pants some other way, so decided to play the damsel in distress?” she sneered.

Arnav finally looked up at the screaming banshee, confused.” What do you mean?”

Khushi flinched, fearing what was coming.

“What do I mean?” Jessica laughed, “Oh come on! The whole school knows she is obsessively in love with you.”

When Arnav turned around to look at her, ask her if it was true, Khushi turned away and ran out of there, trying to control her tears, not wanting the people in there to have any more ammo on her than they already did.

Yes I could tell you his favorite color’s green
He loves to argue oh and it kills me
His sisters beautiful he has his father’s eyes
And if you asked me if I love him
If you asked me if I love him
I’d lie

“Khushi?” Arnav screamed, running behind her. “Khushi! Stop!”

When he caught up to her, he got a hold of her elbow and forced her towards him.

Khushi tried to control her sniffling. Get through this, and you can get home and cry.

“Was what she said true?” he asked.

And when she wouldn’t look up, he pulled her chin up, making her look at him.

“Was she right?” he pleaded her to answer, wiping the tears away. “Please Khushi, I need to know.”

“No” Khushi sniffled. Deny until the end right? What was the point of ruining a good friendship for an unrequited love?

“Khushi, please, don’t lie. I need to know the truth. Do you love me?” he urged her again.

“No!” Khushi refused to tell him, not until she absolutely had to.

“Well, too bad because I love you, and your eyes tell me that you love me too.” he caressed her cheek, all the while looking her straight in the eyes.

Khushi gasped, and before she could overcome the shock of his confession, he shocked her again by claiming her lips.

And they stood there, wrapped in each others arms, celebrating their confession, with a kiss that was long overdue.

8 thoughts on “ArHi OS : I’d Lie

Leave a Reply

